Jan 15, 2020  Without a license key, Little Snitch runs in demo mode, which offers the same protection and functionality as the full version. The demo runs for three hours and can be restarted as often as you like. Network Monitor expires after 30 days. Switch to the full version by entering the license key.

Updated 3:27 PM EDT Oct 22, 2012

As celebrities, IT guys and non-Facebook users can attest, you can never have too much privacy. As such, we're looking at five tools to safeguard your personal details.

Monitor incoming and outgoing traffic

Not all firewalls were made equal. For the people who want to get to the bottom of incoming and outgoing traffic, there's Little Snitch.

Built by Objective Development, the latest version, Little Snitch 3, was released earlier in the fall, bringing with it improvements that make the firewall easier to use. It's proven to be invaluable for security diehards, helping some savvy Mac users detect new malware on their machines.

Little Snitch sees all, acting as an omniscient intermediary between your Mac and hidden connection attempts. When an application or website attempts to connect to a server, it informs you and lets you set rules to temporarily or permanently accept or reject such connections. In its new update, the firewall added a silent mode, so instead of defining rules on the spot each time there's an attempted connection, you can do so later after reviewing the activity log.

It also brought an updated network monitor, which has been redesigned to include real-time charting of incoming and outgoing information. The traffic history helps you understand how applications are communicating with the Web.

Many people have trouble navigating Little Snitch upon installation, and it makes sense why. The rules and prompts can be intimidating and confusing, but the latest version makes it simpler to understand. Little Snitch 3 costs $34.95 for a single license; upgrade licenses begin at $16.95 (free for those who bought the software after May 1). There's also a free demo mode that expires after three hours but can be restarted an unlimited number of times.

Browse the Web securely with HTTPS Everywhere

Another useful tool to keep others from snooping on your private data is HTTPS Everywhere, a Chrome and Firefox extension.

A collaborative effort between the Electronic Frontier Foundation and the Tor Project, HTTPS Everywhere encrypts your communication on about 3,000 websites. The latest update doubled the number of covered sites and is expected to encrypt at least a hundred billion page views within the next year.

By rewriting requests so sites use the more secure HTTPS instead of HTTP, the extension provides a safer browsing experience, one with encrypted communication and secure identification of a network server. Put in simpler terms, this means people won't be able to 'listen in' when you're typing in a password or other personal information.

How much are you worth to Facebook and Google?

If you're curious how two of the Web's biggest sites stack up in online privacy, Privacyfix will lay it all out for you.

The Chrome extension scans your Facebook and Google settings, showing you which cookies are tracking you as you browse. After the initial scan, it will tell you which issues should be fixed (eg. Facebook likes being used for ads), and alert you to privacy breaches and changes to privacy policies on an ongoing basis.

One of its most interesting features is how much money these sites make off advertisements from your data. Even though Facebook and Google don't charge you to use their services, it's not as free as you might think.

And how does Privacyfix handle your information? Under its frequently asked questions, it spells it out in these lay terms: 'We do not receive or store any data associated with your use of Privacyfix unless you voluntarily send it to us. Period.'

Secure communication: This message will self destruct

Now that we have your computer covered, let's turn our attention to Wickr, a free iOS app (Android users, hold tight) that encrypts your iPhone communication, including text, picture, audio and video messages.

Using the app to securely talk to other app users will make you feel like a spy. By default, all messages expire within six days, though there are options for them to self-destruct sooner than that. These messages cannot be recovered after they've been deleted. Furthermore, the app deletes metadata (including location, device information and timestamps) from media files.

Wickr doesn't store any unencrypted messages on its servers. In fact, it doesn't even require you to sign up with an email address. So if you're worried some iPhone apps might be overreaching in the information it collects, rest assured that Wickr has your back.

The Web knows what you're doing

You can read an image just like any file in c by using file handling. You need to know the format of JPEG and then manipulate with the data read by file handling. Can i put an image into dev-c++.

Little snitch demo mode after registering

Still not convinced that privacy's a big concern in our digital age? Look no further than We Know What You're Doing, a borderline creepy social media privacy experiment. It searches public status updates and location check-ins, pulling all this information in one Web page for all to see.

Little Snitch Demo Mode After Registering

It's a relatively simple website, displaying four columns under the following headers: Who wants to get fired (updates with the phrase 'hate my boss'), who's hungover, who's taking drugs (mostly updates that mention marijuana) and who's got a new phone number. That last one is especially troubling, but the site hides some of the digits, likely to protect the privacy of users who should know better.

E-mail Alice Truong at [email protected] Follow her on Twitter: @alicetruong.

Updated 3:27 PM EDT Oct 22, 2012
  • Latest Version:

  • Requirements:

    Mac OS X

  • Author / Product:

    Objective Development Software GmbH / Little Snitch for Mac

  • Old Versions:

  • Filename:

    LittleSnitch-3.1.1.dmg

  • MD5 Checksum:

    fbd7e12d6281c3197f5cbde1087212ce

A firewall protects your computer against unwanted guests from the Internet. But who protects your private data from being sent out? Little Snitch does!
Little Snitch informs you whenever a program attempts to establish an outgoing Internet connection. You can then choose to allow or deny this connection, or define a rule how to handle similar, future connection attempts. This reliably prevents private data from being sent out without your knowledge. Little Snitch for Mac runs inconspicuously in the background and it can also detect network related activity of viruses, trojans and other malware.
Features and Highlights
Silent Mode – Decide Later
There are times where you don’t want to get interrupted by any network related notifications. With Silent Mode you can quickly choose to silence all connection warnings for a while. You can then later review the Silent Mode Log to define permanent rules for connection attempts that occurred during that time.
Research Assistant
Have you ever wondered why a process you’ve never heard of before suddenly wants to connect to some server on the Internet? The Research Assistant helps you to find the answer. It only takes one click on the research button to anonymously request additional information for the current connection from the Research Assistant Database.
Automatic Profile Switching
Rules can be arranged in different profiles like “Home”, “Office” or “Mobile Internet”. This allows you to use different sets of filter rules depending on the network you are currently connected to. Profiles can be activated either manually from the status menu, or automatically, whenever you join a network that’s associated with one of your profiles.
Firewall for incoming connections
Little Snitch for macOS not only reveals any outgoing network connection attempt to make sure that sensitive data doesn’t leave your computer without your consent. The inbound firewall in LittleSnitch provides you with the same level of control for incoming connections.
Note: Requires 64-bit processor. The demo runs for three hours, and it can be restarted as often as you like. The Network Monitor expires after 30 days.